Where Does “The Witcher” Take Place? – The Witcher Timeline

Where Does The Witcher Take Place? - The Witcher Timeline
The Witcher

Where do The Witcher games take place? Here’s the timeline and setting of The Witcher game franchise.

The Witcher is one of the best story-driven action series we have seen in the world of video games. The titles invite players to assume the role of a monster hunter called Geralt of Rivia. Though our protagonist isn’t simply a warrior who hunts monsters for coins. He struggles with destiny as he understands that some humans are the real monsters. In the world of The Witcher, nothing is completely black or white. These are the reasons why the games became one of the best titles and received critical acclaim around the world.

That is also why the streaming giant Netflix adapted the books and the video games into a TV series. With the second season on the way and CDPR giving signals about a new game, let’s dive and find out where The Witcher games take place.

Where do all “The Witcher” games take place?

Where does The Witcher 3 take place?
All of The Witcher games take place on the Continent, a land filled with various people from different races. The world of The Witcher is also home to non-humans alongside monsters that came from other dimensions.

The games in the series invite players to various locations in the Continent. The first The Witcher game, for example, takes place in the capital city of Temeria. We play as Geralt as we get to discover Vizima, its outskirts, and city quarters.

Is The Witcher 1 on Xbox?

The first game was released back in 2007 and allowed players to assume the role of Geralt first time ever. The game received critical acclaim and also received an enhanced edition later on.

Although it is one of the best games of its time, it seems like there are no plans on porting it to Xbox consoles. So you need a PC to experience the first game and become the legendary monster hunter, Geralt of Rivia.

Where does The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings take place?

Unlike the other games in the franchise, The Witcher 2 offers different levels instead of an open world. Players travel to a different destination in each chapter and the chapters feature locations like La Valette Castle, Flotsam, Vergen, Environs, Kaedweni Camp and Loc Muinne.

Where does The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt take place?

Like the previous titles in the franchise, the third game invites players Velen, Novigrad, Skellige Islands, and Kaer Morhen. Major cities like Oxenfurt, Kaer Trolde and Oxenfurt are among the many places players get to visit in the third game. The expansion pack Blood and Wine introduce Toussaint and its beautiful capital city, Beauclair.

The last title in the popular franchise offers one of the most immersive open worlds in a video game. It invites players to a massive land full of cities, villages, quests and mysteries. Wild Hunt further offers dilemmas and intriguing storylines that question the player’s morality.

We should also add that the games are based on books, which are also set in the same universe. Though the games follow after the events that took place in these novels.

Related Posts