What Year Does DOOM Eternal Take Place?

What Year does Doom Eternal Take Place

What year does Doom Eternal take place? Here’s the full timeline of the sequel and other titles in the franchise.

Doom Eternal is the solid sequel game to the Doom reboot in 2016. It was released back on March 19, 2020, and received critical acclaim alongside a couple of prestigious awards and nominations. The successful FPS also received Best PC Game and Best Action Game in Game Critics Awards in 2019. The game invites players to assume the role of Doomguy who is tasked with eliminating the forces of Hell, that are now currently invading the Earth.

As the second main entry in the rebooted series, Doom Eternal introduced a new graphic engine alongside more mobile gameplay. Thanks to the grappling hook and dash movement, gameplay mechanics got more extensive where players have to chance to vertically fight against the enemies. The sequel also added twice as many enemy styles in addition to new weapons and melee abilities.

Furthermore, the critically acclaimed FPS invites players to Earth, Hell, Heaven and Phobos. So it is safe to say that the second game has a lot to offer in terms of gameplay and content. This is why players are curious about the details concerning the lore and the timeline.

When does Doom Eternal take place?

We know that the sequel game takes place after the events that happened in Doom 2016. Though to find out the exact year, you need to look for Dr. Elena Richardson’s logs in ARC Complex. According to the recording date of these logs, Doom Eternal takes place in 2163.

The 2016 Doom, on the other hand, takes place in 2151.

Here’s the full timeline and chronological order of the games in the franchise:

  • Doom (1993)
  • Doom II: Hell on Earth (1994)
  • Final Doom (1996)
  • Doom 64 (1997)
  • Doom 3 (2004)
    • Resurrection of Evil (2005)
    • BFG Edition (2012)
  • Doom (2016 Reboot)
  • Doom Eternal (2020)
    • The Ancient Gods, Part One
    • The Ancient Gods, Part Two

About the Franchise

Doom has been one of the most significant series in the FPS genre. The first entry of the series was released back in 1993 and became a global phenomenon soon after its launch. The first Doom game also became a genre-defining title and it even caused the gaming community to call similar shooters “Doom clone”. It also sold a million copies and evolved into a milestone among the first-person shooters.

The series is one of the longest-running franchises we have seen in the world of video games. Besides being such amazing games, they introduced one of the most famous video game characters, Doomguy who is also known as Doom Slayer or just Slayer. The protagonist is the sole bulwark against the forces of Hell and is in a constant fight against the demons and the undead. His insanity and utter devotion to killing everyone who gets in his way made him an immensely popular character in the gaming community. Fans of the series also know him from the Doom novels.

The game recently arrived on Xbox Series X|S with lots of visual improvements. Players now have the chance to exterminate demons on Hell in 4K and 60 FPS.

Related Posts