Xbox GamesGuidesXbox Game Guides

When Does Crysis Take Place? – Crysis Timeline

Photo of author

Kerem Dogan Karakoc

When does Crysis take place? Here’s the timeline of Crysis games and the correct order to play them.

Crysis games are some of the best FPS games that we have seen in the past 15 years in the world of video games. They combined the elements of a solid action shooter with an immersive atmosphere and managed to hold a special place in our hearts. Now, 8 years after the release of the last main entry, we will get to wear the nanosuit once again. As we are getting closer to the release date of Remastered Trilogy, you might want to prepare yourselves again to join the Raptor Team with Psycho, Aztec, Prophet, and of course, Nomad.

That’s why we have come up with a quick intro of the games without giving any spoilers. Here’s the setting of the successful FPS titles and Crysis timeline.

When does Crysis take place?

As the first main entry in the series, Crysis invites players to Lingshan Islands and takes place in 2020. The players assume the role of a member of the Raptor Team which is deployed on Lingshan archipelago on the day of August 14th, 2020.

The entire mission on the island takes about four days. The midquel game Crysis Warhead is set at the same time as the first game as well.

What year does Crysis 2 take place?

The second game in the franchise takes up the events that took place in the first main game and the standalone expansion, Warhead. Though, unlike its predecessors, Crysis 2 invites players to an urban setting and takes the fight against the aliens to Manhattan, New York City.

Crysis 2 is set in 2023. Alcatraz, alongside his squad, is deployed on Hudson River on the day of August 23rd, 2023.

As the last installation of the series, Crysis 3 calls players to experience the suit for the last time. The game is set in 2047 and focuses on the aftermath of the war between humanity and Ceph aliens.

About the Remastered Trilogy

With the cooperation of Saber Interactive, the developer Crytek was hard at work to bring the action that we had been missing for some time. Crysis Remastered Trilogy will arrive soon with the enhanced and improved version of the three games in the series. That said, Crytek released the remastered version of the first game back on September 18th, 2020. So the new trilogy will include remastered versions of the second and the third main entries of the trilogy.

On the other hand, it is highly possible that we are not going to get Crysis Warhead in the upcoming trilogy. Players expected to see an enhanced version of Warhead, when the remastered version of the first game was released. Though the remastered did not come with the midquel and also did not include a mission in the original game. The developer updated the remastered edition after the launch and added the mission Ascension alongside DLSS support.

Crytek has not commented on the standalone expansion yet. It is safe to say that the title has not received the same treatment as other games.